top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. Tara Nkrumah

High Tea Community Gathering - The Transformative Power of Celebration

July 2019 began a new chapter in my professional journey. From Tampa to Tempe, I joined the Center for Gender Equity in Science and Technology (CGEST). As the new postdoctoral research associate, I was eager to pursue interests in STEM development for historically marginalized students, help cultivate future scientists with a purpose to pursue social equity, and most importantly mentor women of color.


On Sunday, September 8, I had the unique pleasure to attend what I learned marked the fourth annual High Tea Community Gathering for the “Celebration of Women” inspired by Dr. Linda Groomes Walter, Founder, and CEO of Achieving My Purpose Inc. (AMP). This well-attended event honored the past and present contributions of phenomenal women of color’s transformative service, innovation, and/or leadership in the state of Arizona and beyond. Underscored by Dr. Groomes Walter’s mission to make young women aware of the accomplishments by women of color included a dynamic guest speaker and passionate testimonials by mentees making gains to achieve their purpose.

A celebration is often absent in the process of planning to achieve one’s purpose. Suddenly, I experienced a paradigm shift in that elegantly decorated room among the celebrated women. Witnessing the product of one woman’s mission, Dr. Groomes Walters, inspired me to not only see the importance of creating opportunities to advance women of color but also prioritize the celebration of meeting set goals. Ceremonially, as the MC read bio after bio of the journey for each woman, I observed facial expressions in the audience of admiration and hope. I saw the value in sharing stories of success. Knowing their journey, energized and made real the possibilities of unpursued dreams laid dormant until the discovery of that one person who defied the odds. Once you learn someone else has achieved their purpose it positively influences others' attitudes and beliefs.


For me, this event introduced an effective goal setting plan that emphasized a two-way process of action and renewal when working to achieve a purpose. It became clear as waves of excitement passed through me upon hearing each woman being honored the importance of celebration. As a scholar, researcher, mentor, activist, I commit to improving girls and women of color’s engagement in STEM through culturally responsive teaching, critical consciousness development, and outreach. Attending the High Tea Community Gathering for me was more than a social event with food and light conversation, it awakened me intellectually to the rejuvenating power of celebration to enact social change.


Postdoctoral Research Associate

bottom of page