top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCGEST Staff

My First Month with CGEST

By: Jayashree Iyer


My name is Jayashree, and I recently joined CGEST as a Research Experience for Undergraduate (REU) student. I am an undergraduate senior in biomedical engineering at ASU, and up until now, I have only conducted quantitative, scientific research in the biomedical field. My work was in improving the standard of care for glioblastoma, the most aggressive, primary brain cancer. Being in a clinically focused lab led me to research more on healthcare delivery in the United States, along with its racial and socioeconomic disparities. Through extensive reading and discussion, I know that these disparities are deeply rooted in all aspects of society.


Therefore, I wanted to transition my work and time into a space where these challenges can be addressed from the beginning, in an impressionable environment: education. Through my time as a woman of color in science, I have observed the different nuances and apparent obstacles women encounter in STEM. Oftentimes, this is acknowledged but seldom discussed. From my first meeting with Dr. Tara Nkrumah for the Advanced Informal STEM Learning (AISL) project, I instantly recognized that culturally responsive and inclusive teaching, behavior, and research are at the forefront of CGEST’s mission. I am both grateful and excited to be a part of the team and of the culturally responsive teaching for young, underrepresented girls in computer science.


Reading through the literature on culturally responsive teaching highlights the fact that there is a lack of research surrounding it, albeit public schools having a substantial number of students of color in attendance. Accommodating and discussing linguistic, cultural, and ethnic backgrounds are essential to an encompassing and effective education for children. Growing up as the daughter of Indian immigrants in the Midwest, reflecting on my own childhood education I realize how standardized and presumptive it was. I lived in a predominantly white area in my childhood and being taught the same as every other student made me feel included and part of a community, at first.


Deep down, I was rejecting my own culture and identity. I let go of learning my mother tongue as my first language because English seemed superior. This quickly created a divide with my Indian background, because language is an integral part of culture. Despite my efforts, I still felt distant from my American classmates. Now, as an undergraduate student at one of the largest and most diverse public universities, I look back at my education during an impressionable time and wish that differences were seen, respected, and discussed. I finally accept my own identity and the power it has. How we are taught heavily influences not only the course of our career, but our self-esteem, individualism, and overall ambition.


I am thankful for those who have supported and uplifted me to achieve opportunities in research, but reaching this point in my undergraduate and research career is only through active, transparent discussions on diversity and culturally responsive mentorship. Going forward, I hope to use my past experiences and be a resource for young girls in STEM who have bright ambitions and futures.


Written by:

Jayashree Iyer

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Biomedical Engineering


Related Posts

See All

Social Robots: Second Session

By Rachel Ware and Pranati Guduru The Social Robots virtual camp took place last week from August 2nd to the 6th. Fourteen middle school...

bottom of page