top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCGEST Staff

My Time With CGEST

By Shivani Shailesh Nandani

During my time at CGEST, I have gained valuable experience conducting literature reviews, collecting and analyzing data on gender equity in STEM, and using research to inform policy and practice initiatives. The team's unwavering commitment to promoting gender equity in STEM has been a source of inspiration for me. By working alongside them, I have come to appreciate the importance of research as a tool for promoting Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) initiatives and ensuring equitable practices in STEM fields.


One of the most significant takeaways for me has been understanding the nuanced challenges that women and other marginalized groups face in STEM fields. My work with Dr. Kimberly A. Scott has exposed me to a wide range of issues, including the impact of implicit bias on recruitment and retention, the role of intersectionality in shaping experiences, and the importance of allyship and advocacy. By taking an intersectional approach to this work, I have come to understand how gender intersects with other identities, such as race, ethnicity, class, and sexuality.


This experience has helped me develop a deeper understanding of the importance of DEI initiatives and how research can play a pivotal role in promoting equitable practices. As a future worker in the industry, I relate closely to the work and hope to make a meaningful difference in this area.


Looking ahead, I am excited to continue learning and growing with the CGEST team. The skills and knowledge I have gained will undoubtedly serve me well in my future endeavors.


bottom of page