top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCGEST Staff

Nurturing

By Jeremiah Thompson


What does Women History Month mean to me? My life has been surrounded by many different types of women that come from different backgrounds. The women in my life have always had a strong guidance in helping me develop. There is the saying that women are nurturing. Let’s dissect the word nurturing. Nurturing means “to care for and encourage the growth or development of.” Society has many views of what nurturing means. Some are positive, some are negative, and some are in between. Nurturing has been the powerful tool that has shaped the love and humanity in the world.


All of the women in my life have used this very special tool to not only help me, but help achieve the many milestones women have accomplished in history. The women in my life have given me the confidence to be ME! The confidence to achieve all of my current accomplishments. The tough love, the ability to recognize what I am capable of, the encouragement, the support, and the power of mental control. One even may say women are like counselors.


As I reflect on the many accomplishments women have made in history, we tend to forget that the power of nurturing is how we are able to prosper in our daily lives. Women have constantly struggled with inequality, but what I think society has failed to realize is that without nurturing from women, how would we have been able to grow and achieve what we thought was impossible?


Everything needs to be nurtured. I will repeat it again: women are nurturing. This is how things, people, and ideas grow. Like the nurturing of a plant or nurturing a loved one back to health. These actions are what brought positive light in the world.


So, to all the women that not only achieved major milestones, but the everyday woman, thank you for nurturing our society, because without you, we would have been destructive. Happy Women’s History Month!

bottom of page