top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCGEST Staff

This Father's Day...

By Susan Galpin-Tyree

Rather than think about what to get dad for Father’s Day, perhaps we should take time to honor our fathers, and all father figures, by considering what they give, or have given, us.


My Air Force colonel father had three daughters. His own father died when my dad was only five years old. Yet, somehow, my dad figured out how to protect his daughters and to instill in them a sense of security amid the uncertainties of life.


I recall as a child asking my dad pressing questions like, “Are there such things as UFOs?” “Where will I go to school when we live in Turkey?” “Will Santa find us when we move to Japan?”


His constant and repeated reply would come in a bark, “Don’t worry about it!”


In that instant, I was reminded that someone else was taking care of any problems I might think I had.


As I pause to think about the impact those important words – don’t worry about it – had on me, I thank my dad for how he kept me wrapped in security.


I also recall a time as an adult and visiting him and my mom when he was preparing duck for dinner. I asked him, “How are you preparing it?”


Again, in a bark, “The same way I always have!”


I think what he meant to say was, “Don’t worry about it.”


bottom of page